Multifaceted

Isn’t it mind-boggling when you take a second to contemplate just how multifaceted we are as people?

Have you ever thought about the way in which we unwittingly switch character roles when we’re in the presence of different people? For example the persona that you maintain when you’re around your family will differ to the persona that you adopt with your significant other or with your closest friends or work colleagues. Sometimes you’ll play the quietest person in the room, other times the loudest person, sometimes the well-behaved, responsible person, other times the reckless, immature person! We all subconsciously allow different traits to take the forefront in our characters depending on whose company we’re in and most of the time we’re not even aware of it.

For example, in the company of certain people I relish in behaving like a hyper child with buckets of energy, whereas with others for some reason I automatically adopt a much more calm and laid-back role. When I’m around some people (cough cough, my elder sisters!) I could be a considered a lazy brat and yet others would tell you that I’m the most efficient and driven person they know. Some may believe that I’m ‘Stone Cold’ Steve Austin’s female counterpart, but others would maintain that I’m a softie with a big heart. Some would say that I spout nothing but nonsense, though others would say that I’m a voice of reason.

It’s just so interesting when you consider all of the different ways in which we’re being interpreted by everyone around us. And the funny thing is that none of those interpretations are wrong, they’re all accurate in their own right and ultimately they all make up the awesome person that is YOU! Perception is subjective and different people bring out different aspects of our characters, some positive and some negative. At the end of the day we’re all enigmas and we have a tonne of amazing qualities as well as an abundance of flaws, we’re all human I guess…so make sure that you surround yourself with a good bunch of people, because ultimately they will reflect you and vice versa. 🙂


15 thoughts on “Multifaceted

  1. Just for the record, Stone Cold’ Steve Austin rocks. Although I dread to meet his female counterpart.
    There’s a popular saying elders say, “kid with the kids, adult with the adults”. I am pretty sure this was a compliment. It’s human nature for our facial expressions to alter depending on our moods. As much as we all would like to remain consistent in the company of others, sometimes the situation deters us from this and therefore if justified, we should alter our behaviour to deal with that particular situation. Not everything can be resolved with the same approach, just not possible in my view. Ironically, it’s not just the positive ppl around us that can teach us things, there is much to be learned if not more with rubbing shoulders with those of a negative approach.

    1. You’re right, you can learn a lot from people whose personalities don’t necessarily compliment yours…but to remain in their company for too long can be toxic sometimes. Life’s a learning experience and it’s great to rub shoulders with all types of people to get a better sense of self! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. We change because we try to be what people expect us to be. Not always a bad thing but as one of the previous posters said above make sure you like what is being reflected back 🙂

    1. You’re right, I guess we’re all chameleons adapting to our environments…sometimes people bring out the best in us, sometimes the worst but in the midst of all the changing it’s important to stay true to yourself and have a strong sense of identity 🙂

  3. So true. Even my family, friends and office colleagues would give you a totally different description of me. I think we do that to adjust to the environment around us.

  4. This is such an awesome post.. makes me think – what if I had written it 🙂 Nice Work !
    God Bless

Leave a comment